Degree:    Doctor of Philosophy
Duration:  Four Years

About the Program

In 2011, the European Humanities University (EHU) launch a doctoral program in philosophy in partnership with Vytautas Magnus University (Kaunas) and the Lithuanian Culture Research Institute (Vilnius).

EHU’s Doctorate in Philosophy combines the European historical philosophical tradition with a flexible interdisciplinary focus. This allows for in-depth analysis of the most problematic and burning issues that concern today’s individual as well as society at large.

The main focus of doctoral theses lies within two areas:

  • The impact of new technologies on social practices and the experience of identity
  • Social and ethical transformations in the era of globalization

EHU’s doctoral program provides an opportunity to significantly enhance one's qualifications, effectively network with the European academic community, defend one's doctoral dissertation, and earn a doctoral degree (PhD in Philosophy) that is recognized throughout the European Union. A master's degree (or a more advanced degree) is a prerequisite for prospective students who wish to enroll in the doctoral program.

The duration of doctoral studies is four years. Within this time frame, a doctoral student studies for and takes exams in the subjects of his choice, publishes articles covering topics related to her or his thesis, and participates in conferences and other academic activities. A PhD is awarded after successful defense of one's dissertation.

Applications, Payments and Scholarships

Tuition fee for 2016/2017 academic years

Citizens and residents of the Republic of Belarus (EUR / year) Noncitizens and nonresidents of the Republic of Belarus (EUR / year)
EUR 1000

EUR 3400



The following scholars represent EHU on the Doctoral Program Committee: Prof. Anatoli Mikhailov, PhD; Prof. Ryhor Miniankou, PhD; Prof. Almira Ousmanova, PhD; and Prof. Tatiana Shchyttsova, PhD.


For more information about the Doctorate Program, please contact the EHU’s Division of Research: research.division @

Co-financed by:European Commission